Would you like to see something added to, or do you have a contribution for, the Knowledge Base? If so, let us know!
Additional Users are a way to create a separate login for someone to access your data. You can create, edit and set various permissions and restrictions for these additional users from this settings page.
You can find the Additional Users settings by clicking on Settings at the top right side of the page, then click on Additional Users for this Account under the Premium Membership header.
The Create Additional User form lets you select a username and enter a password for the additional user. As long as the username isn't already taken by an existing user and the passwords match, the user will be added to your account.
You can set any of the Permissions that you want for the user. A full explanation of the permissions can be found below.
Create an additional user form
When the user signs in with their login details, they will see the main username and theirs in parenthesis.
Additional username when they sign in
Breakdown of Permissions
You can set various permissions for each additional user. The permissions you can set are explained in the table below.
When checked, the user is able to manage accounts. This means they can add, edit and delete accounts from the Settings -> Accounts page. To prohibit a user from managing accounts, uncheck this option.
When checked, the user is able to manage categories. This means they can add, edit and delete categories from the Settings -> Categories page. To prohibit a user from managing categories, uncheck this option.
Manage Other Settings
When checked, this user has access to all of the various pages in the Settings section. To prohibit managing any of the settings, uncheck this option.
When checked, this user can add, edit and delete budgets. When unchecked, the budgets are 'Read only'.
Manage Reminders / Recurring Transactions
When checked, this user can add, edit and delete reminders and recurring transactions. When unchecked, they are 'Read only'.
When checked, this user can add, edit and delete transactions. When unchecked, they are 'Read only'.
Check this option if you only want a user to be able to add transactions but not be able to edit, jive, unjive or delete them.
Prevent Deleting Transactions
Check this option if you want to prevent a user from deleting transactions.
Lock Jived Transactions
Check this option if you want to prohibit a user from being able to make any modifications to transactions that are already jived.
View only specific accounts
When checked, the user can only view transactions and balances for the selected accounts.
Editing an Additional User
To edit an additional user, click on the blue edit button next to the user you want to edit.
Click to edit an additional user.
When you edit an additional user you can change their password and their permissions.
Example of the edit additional user form.
Deleting an Additional User
To delete an additional user, click on the red delete button next to the user you want to remove.
Click to delete an additional user.
Deleting an additional user will not delete any transactions, budgets, reminders, etc that they created. It will only remove their account and ability to sign into your login.
Viewing Transactions Added by User
Whenever an additional user signs in and adds a transaction, we keep track of that so you can see which transactions they added. Transactions added by additional users appear with the additional username in both the Transaction Register and Search results
Additional Username attached to transactions they add
You can use the By User option in the Search form to search for transactions entered from a specific user.
Searching for transactions with the By User option.