The Account Settings page lets you add new categories, edit and delete existing categories, set account groups and manage your global currency.
You can find the Account settings by clicking on
Settings at the top right side of the page, then click on
Accounts under the
Manage Your: header.
Add an Account
The form at the top of the page lets you add new accounts to ClearCheckbook. We don't limit the number of accounts you can use, so you can create as many accounts as you'd like.
The screenshot below shows the standard Create Account form.
Sample Create Account Form
The screenshot below shows how the Create Account form changes slightly when the
Credit Card account type is selected
Sample Create Account Form w/ Credit Card chosen
The Create Account form contains the following fields:
|You can give your account any name you want.
You can set what kind of account this is. The options are
The only account type that changes the behavior of an account is the
Credit Card type. This gives you access to tools to help keep track of credit card purchases and payments. All other types are simply for organizational purposes.
|This is set to your default currency but you can change it as needed if you have accounts in multiple currencies.
|Optional You can set the starting balance of the account here if you don't want to enter all your transaction history for the account.
|Optional If you have set up any account groups and would like to assign this account to a group, you can select that group here.
|Optional If you chose the
Credit Card type, you can enter a credit limit. The Account Balances list will show how close you are to your limit if you enter a value here.
The Accounts List shows all of your accounts and gives you the ability to edit any aspect of that account.
Sample Account list
Edit an Account
You can make changes to an account from the Accounts List by editing the necessary fields and then clicking the
If you mark an account as inactive, it will not appear in any of the drop down lists or selection boxes throughout ClearCheckbook. The account will also appear at the bottom of your Accounts List and it will be slightly grayed out.
In the screenshot below, the account named
Closed Account has been marked as inactive.
Sample Account list w/ Inactive Account
Delete an Account
You can delete an account from the Accounts List by clicking the red
Delete button. When you do, you will be presented with two different options:
Delete Account & Transactions and
Delete Account Only.
If you select
Delete Account & Transactions, the account and all transactions currently assigned to that account will be deleted.
If you select
Delete Account Only
, the account will be removed and all transactions currently assigned to that account will now be labeled as
since they do not have an account associated with them.
Account Groups let you organize your accounts into groups of your choosing. Any accounts added to a group will contribute to that group's balance in the Account Balances lists. You can also search via groups and run certain reports on account groups.
The Account Groups form only has two fields:
Group Name - the name of the group.
Exclude from overall balances - when checked, this option will exclude any accounts from this group from your overall balances.
Sample Account Groups form
Once you add a group, a list will appear below the Account Groups form that lists each group. You can edit or delete the groups as needed from here. If you delete a group, any accounts associated with that group will not be deleted.
Sample Account Groups list
After a group has been added, you can now add accounts to the group through the Accounts List or when you add a new account.
Selecting an Account Group
The groups and associated accounts appear separately in the Account Balances list as shown below.
Account groups in the Account Balances list
The Global Default Currency affects how your amounts will be formatted. This is also the currency that all others will be converted to if you have accounts with multiple currencies.
Global Default Currency selection
The Reset Accounts form will delete all of your existing accounts and restore them to the four default accounts that were created when you signed up for ClearCheckbook. Any transactions that are currently assigned to accounts will no longer have an account associated with them and will appear under the label
No Account in your account balances list.
Reset your accounts back to the defaults
In order to show a true representation of your balances in the Account Balances list and Overall Balance, we still need to include transactions even if they aren't associated with an account. To do this, we assign those transactions to a label called
No Account which will appear in your Account Balances list.
Example of No Account in your balances list
No Account label will appear anytime you have a transaction or transactions that aren't assigned to an account. This can happen if you delete an account but opt to keep the transactions or if you mistakenly add a transaction but forget to assign it to an account.
To remove the
No Account label you must either edit all the transactions that appear when you click on the
No Account link and assign them to an account or delete the transactions. If you have any
No Account transactions, a box will appear at the top of your Accounts List that lets you permanently delete all of them.
Example of option to delete No Account transactions