ClearCheckbook Knowledge Base

ClearCheckbook Knowledge Base

Help Sections

General

Tools

Reports

Settings

Permanent Actions

Apps

Would you like to see something added to, or do you have a contribution for, the Knowledge Base? If so, let us know!

General Settings

The General Settings page lets you control and set many different options for various behavior throughout ClearCheckbook.

You can find the General settings by clicking on Settings at the top right side of the page, then click on General Settings under the Manage Your: header.

Table of Contents

Explanation of the settings

The various settings are explained in detail below.

Display help boxes

This setting adjusts whether or not the help/description boxes appear at the top of the various sections throughout the site.

The options are Show (default) and Hide
Separate Future/Current Balances

If you have transactions post-dated in the future, you can have your balances separate into the balance as it is today and a balance that includes all post-dated transactions. If separated, the balance as of today will appear as Today's balance under the overall balance.

The options are Yes (default) and No

General Settings - Separate Future/Current Balances option enabled
Sample showing Today's balance
General Settings - Separate Future/Current Balances option enabled
Sample showing Today's balance
Default account page

When you sign into ClearCheckbook, this is the page that will load upon logging in.

The options are Dashboard (default) or Transaction Register
Columns on dashboard

You can choose how many columns you want to appear on the Dashboard. Free members can choose between 1-3 while ClearCheckbook Premium members can select up to 8. The default is 3

Auto-complete for adding transactions

You can choose whether or not to enable Auto-complete when adding transactions. This is the suggetion list that appears when entering a description, memo or payee.

Transaction Auto-complete suggestions
Auto-complete suggestion when enabled

When disabled, no suggestions will appear when entering a description, memo or payee.

The options are Enabled (default) or Disabled
Auto-complete functionality

If you have auto-complete enabled but don't want it to fill in the last used account, category or transaction type, you can change that here so it only enters the auto-complete text.

The options are Full (default) or Text-only
Order Transactions within Date

This option changes how transactions are ordered within a date

The options are Deposits First (default) or Order Entered.

General Settings - Order Transactions within Date - Deposits First
Sample showing Deposits First selected
General Settings - Order Transactions within Date - Order Entered
Sample showing Order Entered selected
You can see the difference between the two screenshots. Deposits First has the deposits listed before the withdrawals. The Order Entered shows the transactions in the order they were entered.
CSS Light / Dark Mode
This option is only available for ClearCheckbook Premium members.

You can set whether you want the site to be displayed in Light or Dark mode. Dark mode is easier on the eyes in low light situations.

The options are Light (default) or Dark

General Settings - Running Balances - Enabled
Sample showing Enabled selected
General Settings - Running Balances - Disabled
Sample showing Disabled selected
Running Balances
This option is only available for ClearCheckbook Premium members.

You can choose whether or not to show the running balance in your transaction register.

The options are Enabled (default) or Disabled

General Settings - CSS Mode - Light
Sample showing Light mode selected
General Settings - CSS Mode - Dark
Sample showing Dark mode selected
If you disable the running balances, you can re-adjust your transaction register columns to show other data where the running balances used to be.
Lock Jived Transactions

Jive Lock lets you lock any jived transactions after a set time period. This will prevent you from accidentally editing or deleting transactions that have been jived. Preventing modifications to jived transactions will help you keep your jived balances from changing if you accidentally edit or delete a jived transaction.

When enabled, you can choose the number of days after a transaction has been jived to lock it. The options are 1, 2, 5, 10, 30, 60, 90 days.

Once a jived transaction passes the days value from above, the jive checkmark will be replaced with a icon and you will not be able to make any changes to the transaction.

General Settings - Jive Lock - Enabled
Sample showing Enabled selected

Contact ClearCheckbook

If you have a question about the site, please check the Support Forums, Tutorials and Help section to see if it's already answered there.

Your message has been sent.

Thank you for reaching out to us. We work hard to respond as quickly as possible to our emails. You'll receive a response soon.